Food Grade Ratings

I was making my ‘no name’ orange juice today and I noticed it said Grade C.  I thought WHAT!? I am buying a very inferior product.  I realize it is ‘no name’ but I’ve never examined the can enough to see the ‘grade’.  I had experience with Grade B beef one time and it tainted me on buying less than grade A from that day forward.  Now to see I am serving a juice that is obviously not a respectable quality!?

Upon investigation regarding my can of juice I have found how it was rated in Schedule 1 under the Processed Products Regulations.  My can of juice is rated a Grade C which also means Standard Grade.  The characteristics of the standard grade juice that vary from Grades A and B are:  (e) is reasonably free from defects; (Grade A is practically free), (f) has a Brix content of not less than 9.7 (Sugar to water content), (g) has a Brix/acid ratio minimum of 10.0/1; (h) has a maximum recoverable oil percentage by volume of 0.040.

Will I be buying the Grade C orange juice again?  We don’t drink orange juice too often in our home, it is normally something I will be adding to a meal (part of a recipe) or a special breakfast so when I am buying my orange juice, it is often based on price alone.  I do believe that my standards on food vary depending on taste and perceived product quality.  Despite the lower rating, I don’t mind the taste of the juice and I cannot see inferiority in the product.  So yes, purchasing a Grade C juice  will be an option.  I will say that after researching this information I am sure I will be more aware to notice the ‘Grade’ on products at the grocery store as it relates to the price as I am sure they are probably proportionate to each other.

 All of these regulations are listed under The Canada Food Inspection Act so they are found on the Department of Justice website and so the information is detailed and ‘legal’.  If you’re interested, you can check out the details on a product type you are curious about; you’ll have to have plenty of time (and interest) but as an example:

An Egg is rated on many details including the dirt on the shell in addition to the obvious like percentage of cracked or leaking/reject eggs or the shape of the yoke and that it is not attached to the shell - Hmmmm….  Things you just don’t think about.

I appreciate reading these standards as it does help me to feel comfortable in regard to the level of accountability a product provider is held to.

One thought on “Food Grade Ratings

  1. Oh, sometimes you just don’t want to know! Good info though. It’s scary to know what passes as acceptable, isn’t it? I’m afraid to click those links, but I know I will…

Leave a Reply

