Mother Teresa Wisdom

Photo Courtesy Photo Bucket (MichaelSabir)

I was recently inspired when reading Mother Teresa’s statement during her Nobel Lecture receiving the Nobel Piece Prize in 1979.  When asked, “Mother, please tell us something that we will remember.”  Mother Teresa said to fourteen visiting professors, “Smile at each other, make time for each other in your family. Smile at each other.”[1]  In her words, she is acknowledging the mutual importance of family to an individual and all other members of a family as well as our responsibility to show acceptance of others (through a smile) in order to promote peace in our society.

Mother Teresa once said: “In these twenty years of work among the people, I have come more and more to realise that it is being unwanted that is the worst disease that any human being can ever experience”. She believes that the worst disease today is not leprosy or tuberculosis, but rather the feeling of being unwanted, uncared for and deserted by everybody.[2]

I accept Mother Teresa’s statements as the ultimate in true awareness and invaluable insite from her extensive involvement with orphans, the destite and dieing.  She lived her life in true humility and true service to others and God; how admirable.  Applying her wisdom in my life, I realize that every person goes through life with the desire to be wanted (accepted).  It is my responsibility as not only a mom but as a wife to ensure that each member of my family is always aware of my unwavering acceptance and love.  Although this will be easier said then done, somehow puting it down on paper, so to speak, is my declaration of my commitment to my family.

Mother Teresa’s words of wisdom should be used in all aspects of my life.  I now commit to offering many smiles to many strangers as my contribution to to make them feel wanted or accepted.  Smiling at a stranger may be what someone else may need to make their day a better one, likewise the smile I receive in response may be what I need to make my day a little better.  Win – Win!

I do enjoy thought-provoking statements that allow me to analyze my life in order to improve my own behaviours.  Sometimes I’m able to implement them and maintain my new found wisdom and other times I say, life is filled with good intentions! I have a renewed admiration for Mother Teresa and realize I want to live my life with that same humility, I would like to live a life serving, just like she lived.

[1]”Mother Teresa – Nobel Lecture”. Nobelprize.org. 3 Jan 2012 <http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/1979/teresa-lecture.html>  

[2]”The Nobel Peace Prize 1979 – Presentation Speech”. Nobelprize.org. 3 Jan 2012 http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/1979/presentation-speech.html

Leave a Reply

