Nkou God

photo courtesy freedigitalphotos.net

A value I would like to instill in my boys I have learned in reference to one of my favourite scriptures:

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 – Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

I would like to teach my children to pray without ceasing; not because I have perfected this skill in my own life but because I think it is so important that I would like it to be considered ‘normal’ for them to always be looking to God with a thankful heart and life guidance.  This priority to teach is a reminder to me to be more aware of all the moments I need to refocus and look to God.

Today, as I walked up the stairs, to prepare dinner in anticipation of daddy’s arrival home on an extremely cold, snowy evening, I said, “Please bring daddy home safely, Thank you God.”  The little voice five steps behind me says, “Nkou God.”(re-enactment) 

It was a sweet moment for mommy, worth savouring on her blog.

Note:

1)  Six months ago Thank you was a two syllable word but it is so familiar now, we’re down to a one syllable word – Nkou.

2)  Nkou means Thank you and is not an acronym or reference to a term in another language.

One thought on “Nkou God

Leave a Reply

