Powerful Lies

photo courtesy freedigitalphotos.net
in·teg·ri·ty – 1.  adherence to moral and ethical principles; soundness of moral character; honesty.[1]
 Several years ago, I was exposed to a situation where I was being faced with lies, lies and more lies.  I became so frustrated with the exposure to continuous lying and my wonder of where the truth was situated within the lies that I became strongly opposed to all lies, even when it came to ‘white’ lies.  Yes, even when I ask my husband, “Does this outfit look good on me?” OR “Did you enjoy dinner?”  He is allowed to be completely honest and it is then my responsibility to deal with my emotions as it relates to the truth.
I find it so challenging when I find out someone has lied to me and it causes all subsequent conversations to be filled with wonder of what exactly is the truth.  The distrust that is established can only take an extensive amount of time of honesty to repair, if ever.
If asked whether you have integrity, I believe most people would state that they do; despite their use of lying in their lives.  It is socially acceptable on many levels to lie, especially if it is going to protect feelings or as a way to avoid uncomfortable situations, including lying by withholding information.
 I would like to take a small excerpt out of one my favourite books where the author speaks in reference to teaching her child not to lie.  During her discussion with her child she says,  “Satan is a Liar,” I told him.  “All the evil he does begins with a lie.  People who lie believe that lying will make things better for them.  But actually, it does just the opposite, That’s because telling a lie means you have aligned yourself with Satan.  Every time you lie you give Satan a piece of your heart.  The more lies you tell, the more you give place in your heart to Satan’s lying spirit, until eventually you can’t stop yourself from lying.”[2]
Have you ever had experience when dealing with someone who lies so often that they begin to believe their lies as truth?  It reinforces the statement referenced above.  For 2012, let’s all do our best to be honest and this will ensure that we can say honestly, “I have integrity.”
 
 [1]”in·teg·ri·ty”. dictionary.com. 17 Jan 2012 <http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/integrity>  

[2] Omartian, Stormie. Power of a Praying Parent. Eugene, Oregon: Harvest House Publishing, 1995.

Leave a Reply

