A Beautiful Journey

Guest Post By Calvin Wait

On December 1, 1979 just after 11:00 am I was involved in an accident that consisted of a 44 car pile-up on one of our major highways. In this accident I was the 7th vehicle that came upon what is said to be about a 1 mile stretch of black ice. I don’t remember much about the collision itself, however the witnesses said I slid into a tow-truck that was parked on the side of the highway trying to help others. After hitting the tow-truck I slid across the highway and hit the back end of a tractor-trailer. My head went through the windsheild and I was also thrown back into the drivers side window causing glass to be imbedded into my head which I spent a couple of years returning to the Hospital to have glass removed as it surfaced.

At the accident scene my left foot was severed to the point it was barely attached, my right foot was de-gloved and every single bone in the foot broke. Despite the actions of the medical staff, I am now an amputee. My left foot is amputated and I walk with a prosthesis, my right foot is missing 3 toes and I have now have arthritis in it. So, physically speaking I also spend every minute in pain, I have come to accept this as my “new norm”. This was the physical aspect of my story, but I would like to share with you my reward.

I come from a background of agnostics and atheists and prior to the accident I would poke fun at those who claimed to be “Christians”, to the point I would leave some in tears. Oh how wrong I was; and I am so glad we have a forgiving redeemer in Jesus. After the impact of the accident I spent one week in a comatose state, surrounded by caring medical staff and loving friends and family. I don’t recall much about being in the coma, but I will say that I was fully aware of what happened to me and the loss of my foot.

While I was in the coma, I heard a very clear voice that said to me, “Not Yet”. When I came out of the coma, the first words I spoke were, “There is a God!”. These words surprised those in my room as I was the last person they would have expected to say them.  It felt as though everytime I tried to tell anyone about hearing the voice I would be overcome with emotion and felt I could not express it. When I finally was able to share the experience, I would still breakdown in tears and to this day, I will well up with emotions.

I will say that another experience that did not have near the impact on me as hearing the words “not yet”, was, what could be described as an out of body experience. This is hard to explain, but I found myself looking down on my body and seeing the doctors standing over me and discussing the removal of my foot. I felt no anxiety or fear as I watched from above. This brought forth to me the reality of the spiritual realm. The day I came out of the coma, the patrolman that was at the scene of the accident showed up in my room with a blown up picture of my car and said, that he had been doing this job for over ten years and seen accidents that did not have the damage of my vehicle and the occupants did not survive. He wanted me to know how lucky I was to be alive; I know that ‘luck’ had nothing to do with my survival.

I spent until mid-March of 1980 in the Hospital going through blood transfusions, operations and physical healing. Upon leaving the hospital, I began my search for the truth, by reading books on various religions, visits to clergy, and finally in July of 1982 I was spiritually healed and gave my life to Jesus. I publically declared and was baptised September of 1982. To share this story with you brings back a flood of emotions with this life changing situation. 

Knowing what I know now, if I was to go back in time, I would drive this road on December 1st, 1979 to take this beautiful journey and change nothing for it brought me to the point in my life that I am now at, with loving children an absolute loyal and loving wife and most of all, a relationship with our creator!  I am filled with excitement of our future in Jesus. “What a friend we have in Jesus”.

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Journey

  1. Thank you for liking my “happiness” post on http://www.lastmomstanding.com. If not, I may not have had the gift of reading “A Beautiful Journey”. Thank you for having the strength to share such a personal story!

    I too was once in a pretty bad car accident, just months before my husband of 6months was due to deploy to Iraq.

    My questions of “why” were tempered… when I realized God was there for every conversation I wanted to have. Like my stopping to call my mom everyday, God and I also had daily conversations. I realized it was as simple as just stopping to listen. The Voice is always there for us to hear, we just have to open our ears.

    All the best to you! I look forward to reading more.

    Laugh hard. Love strong. Live to serve.
    -kimberly crawford

Leave a Reply

