Another Sleepy Post

But wait!  We’ve actually been getting sleep these days.  I went in for a haircut a week ago on Tuesday morning, my stylist’s quiet time; she allows me to have my boys in the play yard next to us while she does my hair.  We were discussing sleeping and I was telling her how my ten month old was still waking up a minimum two times a night.  Thinking back, my report of how many times a night was incorrect because he typically would wake up one time before I went to bed making his total awakenings to actually a minimum of three times.

My stylist said, “You know what you have to do is just let him cry it out for a few nights and it is like magic, he will sleep.”  She said, “Just go in and make sure he is okay but if you pick him up, you’re done.”  Her encouragement was what caused me to do something that I never, ever would have thought I would do.  You hear over and over how your child’s security is established when they are so young.  What if not responding to him results in permanent pain for my little guy?  It isn’t fair, my oldest son never had to go through that, he slept with us and eventually moved into his own bed and it was fine.  It was worth a try for everyone’s health; his interrupted sleep may have been part of the reason he picks up bugs frequently, he would get sick and it would take weeks to get over.  Alas, I would try it, my hairdresser wasn’t the only one who had been encouraging me to take this action these days.

I told daddy when he arrived home that evening after my haircut that this was my plan.  He was okay with it, his biggest concern was whether he would wake up big brother, then we’d just be a big loud house.  I figured it wouldn’t be a problem, big brother is mostly a sensitive sleeper during the daytime hours and the early hours before morning.  With this in mind, we did it. 

Night 1:  Our little guy first cried at 12:30 and on and off until at 04:45 I went in and brought him up.  I was a broken hearted mom.  I couldn’t believe I had done it.  My poor little ten month old just wanted his warm cuddly mom.  People all over the world sleep with their babies, I’m leaving mine alone in his big crib and didn’t even respond when he called me.  I spent the entire next day over-loving him.  He probably wondered what happened to his mommy, she wouldn’t leave him alone.

Night 2:  I could not do what I did to my tender, tiny baby tonight as I did last night.  I am going to go back to what we were doing before, even if I can try harder to get him to sleep with us in our bed.  It isn’t fair, I love this little boy to bits and at the very least, I want him to know I am here for him always, anytime, anywhere; I am here.  Would you believe the boy woke up once at 4:00am, I nursed him and put him back to bed.

Night 3:  Same thing.

Night 4:  Slept through the night!  What!?  He must have realized how good that unbroken sleep feels.  From this day forward he has been sleeping through, it has been four nights of full nights sleep for my baby.  I am so excited and pleased.  He goes to bed at 7:00 and wakes up around 7:00 or 7:30. 

In the last almost two weeks, he has slept through the night five times and had woken up once every other night. 

It hurt us both, I wouldn’t recommend the heartache to anyone but a full night’s sleep is a necessity for our entire families’ well-being so I am happy for how it all worked out.  I have to go and give him a hug now, I still feel bad that I had to put him through that!  Aaah, now I just need to get the dog to sleep through the night without a potty break.

photo courtesy freedigitalphotos.net

8 thoughts on “Another Sleepy Post

  1. It is so difficult to do the crying down method. I did it with my son, going back in every 5 minutes, 10 minutes and then every 15 minutes thereafter. He only cried for about an hour and half before going to sleep though so not as difficult as for you. However, I had to do this over 4 days before it worked.

  2. Oh, this is so sweet, I can understand your breaking heart. It’s tough to know what to do, you’ve got to follow your mommy instinct and you did that. I left a comment under that special Mommy section about what I learned years later about getting my daughter to sleep as in infant. She would be up 3 times a night until finally, TOTALLY EXHAUSTED, I let her cry herself to sleep. I didn’t like it, and I think my husband went in and patted her on the back, but I was almost insane with lack of sleep! So glad your little sweetie is sleeping well now. On the other hand–and this is when you new moms can be jealous, my son slept through the night since he was 2 weeks old, sleeping about 10 hours AND taking a nap during the day! Wow! I thought I was in heaven! The kiddos are so different. It warms my heart that you are such a good mommy. Bless you and all the other mommys out there!

    • It is so intriguing how two children from the same parents can be so different. I knew I was different from my sisters but was so surprised when my second child was born and had a completely different personality. It is beautiful really.
      That is fantastic your son slept through at two weeks! You must have been one happy mommy!
      Thank you for the encouragement. I appreciate all of your comments and blog support! It made my day to log on and know you enjoyed reading.

Leave a Reply

