The Greatest Love of All

With the passing of Whitney Houston, I pulled out my Whitney Greatest Hits album to reminisce today.  The last time I listened to this album was many years ago so I now have a new appreciation and need to acknowledge my roll for The greatest Love Of All now that I’m a mom. 

I have included the lyrics[1] but deleted a few lines that repeated:

I believe the children are our are future.  Teach them well and let them lead the way Show them all the beauty they possess inside Give them a sense of pride to make it easier Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be Everybody searching for a hero People need someone to look up to I never found anyone to fulfill my needs A lonely place to be So I learned to depend on me I decided long ago, never to walk in anyone’s shadows If I fail, if I succeed At least I live as I believe No matter what they take from me They can’t take away my dignity Because the greatest love of all Is happening to me I found the greatest love of all Inside of me The greatest love of all Is easy to achieve
Learning to love yourself It is the greatest love of all And if by chance, that special place That you’ve been dreaming of Leads you to a lonely place
Find your strength in love 

It’s my job!  It’s my responsiblity to give my children the tools to love themselves because they need to love themselves enough to truly love others. 

I quickly turned to my favourite parenting reference guide:  Focus on The Family.

 

1)  In Effective Child Discipline they share a chart from a study put on Sociologist Reuben Hill.  They go on to explain the best parenting style is a balance of love and discipline for children this balance gives them self-esteem, “Everyone knows who the boss is, but there’s also a connection between parents and child, a consideration that respects and honors who the child is while not compromising his or her disciplinary needs.”[2]

2)  In the article Building Self Esteem the author shares Dr. Leman’s parenting ABC’s; Acceptance, Belonging and Competence.  Acceptance of who they are.  Giving them a sense of Belonging in the family.  Allowing them the feeling of Competence (guiding without controlling). [3]  Plenty of thought-provoking information.

3)  And most importantly, there is unbelieveable power in prayer.  Stormie Omartian provides fantastic guidance in prayer for our children in the Power Of The Praying Parent book.  We need God’s guidance while raising our children and this book provides insight and prayers for our children.  A must read for every parent.

The Power of The Praying Kid – Let’s get our children involved and building their relationship with God.  Knowing they have God with them all the time.  Even when they feel alone, they will know they have prayer. 

Stormie’s Power of The Praying Books are wonderful; her books are inspiring and powerful.

References:

3 thoughts on “The Greatest Love of All

  1. I never really understood self esteem (nor really had it) until I realized that I was created by a God who created the Universe and I was uniquely made, and that He had a purpose for my life.

Leave a Reply

