Daddy Love Day 4

Daddy and I met through work.  I recall meeting my soon-to-be husband at a business meeting.  Who would have thought!?  Not I.  I recalled thinking to myself when I returned to my office after meeting him, that man was nice, I wonder if he has a younger brother or a son!? 

I saw him one more time for another business meeting but our interaction was minimal.  I would have never really thought of us dating, not even for a moment so it wasn’t much of an occasion at all.  Just another day at the office.

Over a year and a half later, it was United Way promotion time.  I had to go to his office to drop off donations for a United Way silent auction.  I knew that my future husband (ha, ha) was very approachable and I would be able to have an easy conversation with him so he was the one I chose to give the items to.  I went to his office and we had an excellent conversation, I offered to take him out for lunch (part of my job to take my customers out) and he almost tipped his chair over in excitement to leave (just kidding, my love, but it did really seem like it).

Lunch flew by and it was very special.  We didn’t have a whole lot of interaction over the next little while but we did plan to go to church together as he had planned on attending a church that I frequented.  Eventually we did go to that church, followed by a coffee way later on that day; I inadvertently gave him the wrong address of the coffee shop we were meeting at.  We had a great friendship for a while and we finally began ‘dating’ three months later when I admitted to him that I had a crush on him. 

We would often debate about guys and gals being friends.  I took the side that they cannot be friends without one of them wanting more; even if they failed to admit it.  He argued that they could.  He continued to bring this debate up until one day, he said, “Well, if guys and girls can’t be friends then what about us?  I said, “Well, do you like me?”  He said, “No.”  I said, “Then it must be me.”  Well, I guess he must have been deceiving me, he was across the room in a heart beat to be next to me. 

I am beginning to think maybe I did win our debate!

You never know where you’ll meet that someone special.  While we were dating, I heard the song my Rascal Flatts, “God Bless The Broken Road”, it was true, we had each had our share of heart breaks in our life but it was a blessing that we ended up together….

I set out on a narrow way many years ago
Hoping I would find true love along the broken road
But I got lost a time or two
Wiped my brow and kept pushing through
I couldn’t see how every sign pointed straight to you

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

I think about the years I spent just passing through
I’d like to have the time I lost and give it back to you
But you just smile and take my hand
You’ve been there you understand
It’s all part of a grander plan that is coming true

Now I’m just rolling home
Into my lover’s arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you. [1]

How did your love story begin?  Why not spend some time today discussing with your spouse how your love story began ?  Those early feelings and emotions are worth treasuring and probably laughing at too.

Photo courtesy promisekeepers.ca

References:

[1] azlyrics.com

3 thoughts on “Daddy Love Day 4

  1. Great story. A good way to re-connect with your spouse on a frequent basis is to talk about how you first met. You get to laugh, talk, and share those wonderful feelings again of when you first realized that this person was “the one”. Your story put a smile on my face. I had to LOL about him practically destroying furniture to join you for that lunch ‘date’.

Leave a Reply

