The Dishwasher Monster

Thank God for dirty dishes,
they have a tale to tell;
while others may go hungry,
we’re eating very well.
~Author Unknown (quotegarden.com)

What is it about that dishwasher that makes us procrastinate about emptying it’s clean contents?  There is no other household appliance that comes with such hesitation;

even the dryer isn’t so bad because our clean favourite shirt is awaiting inside.  Why do we not just empty it now?  Why should the now dirty dishes accumulate in the sink when the dishwasher could be ready to accept them within moments?  Have you ever timed how long it takes to actually empty that machine? Approximately three minutes according to my calculation.  That is almost like no time at all!

I was recently discussing the clean kitchen with a good friend.  She was mentioning how quickly it can be tidied up and it feels like the house is in order.  My kitchen issue is that I will leave the ‘hand wash’ items for later like the wooden cutting board or the no-stick skillet in the sink ‘for later’.  Our discussion inspired me to get them done too!  They only take three minutes more and the job is done.  Thank you pal for the inspiration. 😉

I guess the dishes don’t have to be the monster in the kitchen after all.

I like hugs and I like kisses,
But what I really love is help with the dishes!
~Author Unknown (quotegarden.com)

6 thoughts on “The Dishwasher Monster

  1. I’ve noticed the same thing… I procrastinate on emptying the dishwasher. I empty a few things, then, later on, empty a few more. The flatware still in there, dishes piling in the sink. I really like your quote about the dishes. One time I was complaining to myself that I could not get all the food I purchased into the cupboards, and then I caught myself, realizing that this was a good “problem” to have.

    • Yes, I’ll put away the six bowls from the top rack and see everything else goes in different areas so I figure I’ll do that later. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your ‘understanding’ of that silly dishwasher!

  2. You are so right. What is it about emptying the dishwasher and washing dishes that so causes us to procrastinate? It may be because we know that it will soon fill up again and it starts all over. LOL

  3. This makes me laugh because I can relate completely…you should see my full dishwasher right now 🙂 I’m also guilty of leaving folded laundry in the basket for over a week and collecting missing socks in hopes I will someday find the partner or find some other unique use for solo socks 😉 thanks for making me smile!

Leave a Reply

