Toddler Snacks

One of the secrets to a satisfied toddler is keeping their tummies full and their mind occupied.  My favourite toddler snacks to have on hand are:

Berries – My son likes berries, berries, berries.  I prefer to buy organic berries so during our winter season when organic berries are rare or almost not edible, I like to buy Organic frozen berries from Safeway, mix them with yogurt.

Cereal with Yogurt – Raw oatmeal is usually my favourite because it is more filling but whole grain o’s rate second.

Cheese – Chunks, sticks, strings, slices, whatever shape or size, a hit to eat.  Get out your cookie cutters to make it even more fun!

Crackers – Everyone enjoys crackers at snack time.  We spread avocado over crackers to increase the veggie and fat intake.

Egg Salad Sandwich – We haven’t perfected how to eat it together as a sandwich but bread with egg salad are served together but eaten apart.

Frozen Peas – I know, it sounds crazy.  Especially on days when I am concerned that their veggie servings are low, I pull out the frozen peas at snack time.  The best part (for mommy) is, they don’t ‘pop’ when you squish them so my son will eat them instead of ‘popping’ them.

Fruit – Other fruit is a must, whether it be bananas, apples, oranges, mango, melon or what suits our fancy.  Get out your cookie cutters to make it even more fun!

Nuts – My two year old has only begun now to enjoy walnuts and pecans.  You need to be a toddler with many teeth to eat nuts. 😉

Raisins – They are quick and reliably enjoyable.

Toast – I typically cut the toast in small bite size squares or in fingers.  Daddy doesn’t like butter so I actually serve it dry and they don’t seem to mind.

Yogurt – My boys are both in need of more fat in their diet so we have been indulging in the Krema Greek Yogurt.  It is high in calories, high in fat and tastes delicious.  Yes, mommy’s guilty pleasure too.    Freeze it in your ice cube tray for a frozen snack too!

Yogurt Covered Pretzels – Thinsations has the 100 calorie yogurt covered pretzels.  Someone had bought them for the kids I watch at church and they were a hit.  They put them on their fingers, peak through the centre of them and they are a sweet/salty taste they enjoy.  They don’t rate high on my healthy snack list but they are fun for a treat.

 

What snacks do you prepare for your children?  I’m looking for new ideas too!

13 thoughts on “Toddler Snacks

  1. Wow, you are doing a good job with their diet. The raisins remind me of my daughter when she was a toddler… put a raisin up her nose, thought we were going to have to go to the hospital to have it removed. I told her to go potty first, and as she sat on the potty, she sneezed, and the rasisin popped out of her nose! Funny!

Leave a Reply

