15 Second Kisses For Daddy

In a recent post, Marriage – The Foundation of Of Our Home I told you about the 30 Day Devotional we received called A Godly Home (Click if you’re interested in reading the entire booklet).

Recently we were reading Day 14 called PUCKER UP.  The final challenge of the devotion was:  everyday this week, kiss for at least fifteen seconds. And see how much more fun you have!

Well, I am up to the challenge!

For our first kiss, I said to my husband, “Who should do the counting?”  We laughed as he did a count out loud to our fifteen seconds.  Honestly, it was special and I wanted more!  I realized how little time we spend kissing.  We snuggle often but kissing is different, it ensures that the distractions are few and you are entirely focused on each other.

Here is a three minute video with Dr. Wendy L Hill, Dean of Faculty, and Professor of Neuroscience at Lafayette College explaining the benefits of kissing and holding hands in relationships. 

I think this kissing thing might just be what the Dr. ordered.

According to Wikipedia:

Cortisol is a steriod hormone; produced by the adrenal gland.  It is released in response to stress and a low level of blood glucocorticoids. Its primary functions are to increase blood sugar; suppress the immune system; and aid in fat, protein and carbohydrate metabolism. It also decreases bone formation.

It has been three days now since we were able to reconnect with our 15 second kisses.  I think this will be one habit that I will want to keep on keepin on.

You can read the entire devotional here:  A Godly Home 

“Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth . . . ” Song of Solomon 1:3

5 thoughts on “15 Second Kisses For Daddy

  1. sometimes I say to my husband, “I need a kiss”. And he says, “You were running low, were you?” Ha! One thing I’ve always liked about our relationship is that he will reach out and take my hand when we go for walks, or just sitting on the couch, or in a room full of people. We also hold hands or touch briefly before we go to sleep. It’s a good way to connect, and truthfully, I feel much calmer and secure the moment our hands meet.

    • That is neat! It is true, you are one and that touching reminds you that you’re not alone, especially when you’re in a room full of people. It sounds wonderful.
      Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. That’s just so cool 🙂 certainly brings to mind the old saying, that you have to work at a marriage.
    A very good tip for managing stress too…just kiss more!!! I like how you replied about connection and not feeling alone. A lovely post!

Leave a Reply

