Fear Is Just A Lie

Washing my little guy’s face this morning, I sang to him as I washed every perfect feature on his face.  I sang as I washed his perfect little eyes, perfect little nose, perfect cheeks and perfect mouth, put there, right in their place, exactly where God wanted them to be.  I shared with my toddler how God made him, “Just Right,” because God doesn’t make mistakes.  It reminded me of one of my favourite songs that I lectured encouraged my niece’s with years ago (insert apology for lectures):

As I washed my little guys face in it’s perfection, I imagined the insecurities he may or may not have as he grows and develops through his childhood into adulthood.  

I imagine concerns or fears he may experience because of insecurities he may develop or fear of rejection by peers or his fear of failure.  I imagine myself reassuring him that he was made just how he was supposed to be made and encouraging him to overcome his fears.

Fast forward a few hours later:

I was listening to “Strong Enough To Save” by Tenth Avenue North (Click to listen).  Do you ever have those moments when you’re listening to a song and you hear “that line”?  You know, that line in the song that simmers in your brain for the rest of the day?  I have been simmering on the “fear is just a lie” all day now.  When it comes to social fear, it is true!

fear (dictionary.com)

 a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined; the feeling or condition of being afraid.

Imagine the social fears we experience each day that are lies. 
 
I will not say/do that in case someone judges me.
I am not good enough.
I am not goodlooking enough.
I will not do that because I may fail.
I will not be the best so I will not try.
I will not stand up for something I believe in so I can avoid judgement.
 
My personal fear is the fear of rejection in a social setting.  I fear that I may be perceived as silly, naive or as a know-it-all when I share my thoughts or experiences.
 
I write this post today to share that I do know if I live my life prayerfully and if my conversations and behaviour are pleasing to God, then my fear is misplaced.  It is a lie.  Insecurities are often lies that have developed in our minds.  They are lies.  Lies that instill a social fear are not from God.  God wants us to know how valuable we are to him, he accepts us as we are.
 
It reminds me of Romans 8:31:  What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?
11 thoughts on “Fear Is Just A Lie

  1. Re: Fears , social uneasiness:

    How to deal with them: Repeat to yourself these 4 things:

    A. Go with the flow
    B. Water off a ducks’ back
    C. Don’t sweat the small stuff
    D. Fear is just an opinion.

    Good post. 🙂

  2. Oh yeah… social settings… know what you mean. I’ve become more comfortable in them as I’ve gotten older, more of a “oh well” attitude because I know many others have felt the same way at one time or another. Also, I decided I’m as valuable as the next person. There could be many others who feel the same as you, they just aren’t saying it. In social situations, I’ve also looked for others who are being ignored, and strike up a conversation (about anything!) with them–you’ll both be grateful!! 😉

    • Great idea to reach out!
      I believe age, experience and becoming a mom have probably minimized those “lies” for me. It isn’t as big of a deal as I may have made it sound; I may just have moments where I doubt myself but my justifying personality checks in and says, “Oh well.” Or in comes my thought, where are my children now? Better get them and I move on. Thank you again for stopping by and sharing.

  3. I stopped back by because I had forgotten to watch the video… “Instead of silicone, I prefer my own” Cute! I was thinking, if God made each one of us unique, why is our hair color “wrong” or our body shape, facial features, personality, etc. “wrong”? It isn’t! And if we can find the guts to embrace our own personal self, it is such a feeling of freedom–and then we can get on with living our life the way and the direction that God has planned. (Do any men struggle with how they look??? Ha! I think men have different issues of self-esteem.)

  4. I like this! Encouraging your son that he is fearfully and wonderfully made and God makes no mistakes!! You are teaching him diligently!! Insecurities are lies and we must take them captive to the obedience of Christ and exchange them with truth-God’s Word! Great post, thank you!!!

  5. A social fear I have is being misunderstood, slandered, and rejected by others with whom I’m trying to form connection. Facing this fear and experience head on, trying to live with dignity and respect for others, and focusing on the gifts of love in my life can sustain me through it, though wading through our fears can be uncomfortable, stressful, and at times painful. Sometimes we forget we can find the strength to navigate through fears when we need it. Good friends help too. Thanks for a lovely and thoughtful post; it was a timely piece for me to hear and remember. I really appreciate your writing and the support you give to others.

    • Thank you so much for sharing. I can identify with your concern about rejection. It only takes one experience of betrayal to affect future relationships!

      I appreciate your blog friendship! 😉

Leave a Reply

