Raising Children As Kites

One Year Old!  How time goes by so quickly.  I recall prior to be married how I only related to time moving by how far away from graduation it was.  Once I became married, I would often comment, “I can’t believe how quickly time has passed,” now that I’m a parent it is even quicker.  With children, you are able to witness the significant growth and changes that occur in such a short span of time, it reinforces to me what a brief period it will be that I have to mold and shape my boys into God loving, respectable, responsible young men.  It reminds me of the old Erma Bombeck quote:

I see children as kites. You spend a lifetime trying to get them off the ground. You run with them until you’re both breathless… they crash… you add a longer tail. You patch and comfort, adjust and teach and assure them that someday they will fly.

Finally they are airborne, but they need more string, and you keep letting it out. With each twist of the ball of twine, the kite becomes more distant. You know it won’t be long before that beautiful creature will snap the lifeline that bound you together and soar free and alone. Only then do you know you did your job.  ~Erma Bombeck

 

Photo Courtesy Freedigitalphotos.net

Happy Birthday my sweet little boy.  You are so very precious to me and a significant part of our family.  Thank you for all of your sweet smiles, giggles and warm hugs.  I love how you get so excited each time I walk into your room, whether you are awake or not.  Oh boy, I am so blessed and thankful from the bottom of my heart that you are a part of my family!

5 thoughts on “Raising Children As Kites

Leave a Reply

